Concealed Carry Permitting Process in Illinois OutlinedSPRINGFIELD, Ill. (AP) - Illinois lawmakers have established a multi-step process for issuing a state permit for carrying a concealed weapon as part of a new law they approved this week.
The law directs authorities to issue permits to any applicant who has a state-issued Firearm Owner's Identification card, passes a background check, undergoes 16 hours of training and pays a $150 fee, or $300 for a non-resident. Illinois State Police have 60 days to set up firearms training courses and list approved courses on the department's website.
Here are details on the permitting process:
* Illinois State Police officials have six months to set up a concealed carry permit process.
* After that, state police must approve or deny permits within 90 days of receiving a request.
* Within 10 days of receiving a request, state police must enter applicant's information into a database, including previous addresses during the past decade.
* Local law enforcement agencies such as county sheriffs may object to an application within 30 days of database entry.
* Once an application is submitted, state police will begin background checks, including reviews of FBI database, state and local files, including juvenile adjudications and records pertaining to domestic violence, mental health and developmental disabilities.
* Applicants' fingerprints will be reviewed.
* A new seven-member licensing review board will rule on any law enforcement objection within a month.
See other LocalNews news:Karlie Nattier of Patoka Crowned 2015 Marion County Fair Queen
Survey: 1/3 of Illinois Human Service Agencies Making Cuts
Illinois State Trooper to be Honored with Agency's Medal of Honor
Governor Rauner Reviewing Federal Plan to Cut Greenhouse Gas Emissions from U.S. Power Plants
Florida-Based Health Care Tech. Company Hiring Out of Decatur